Massachusetts Recreational Cannabis Laws

Massachusetts Recreational Cannabis Laws

After Massachusetts voters approved the legalization of recreational cannabis, the law went into full effect in December 2016.

Adults who are at least 21 years of age can use, purchase, and possess up to one ounce of marijuana on their person and up to five grams of cannabis concentrate outside the home and keep up to 10 ounces at home. Additionally, consumers can grow up to six plants at home and up to 12 plants if two adults live in the residence.

On November 20, 2018, the first two state recreational cannabis dispensaries opened their doors: Cultivate in Leicester and New England Treatment Access in Northampton. However, shops are opening slowly, which means current retailers will experience long waits during busy hours. Medical marijuana patients can purchase cannabis at a licensed medical marijuana dispensary.

Possession of more than one ounce is considered a misdemeanor offense, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of six months and a fine not exceeding $500. A second or subsequent offense is also a misdemeanor, but it carries a jail term of up to two years and a maximum $2,000 fine.

When driving a vehicle, cannabis products must be kept in a sealed container, locked in the glove compartment, or secured in the trunk. Driving while under the influence of marijuana can result in a DUI/OUI.

Consuming marijuana in any form is against the law in public or on federal land. While homeowners can use cannabis on their premises, renters must adhere to the policies of their landlord. Out-of-towners must find marijuana-friendly lodgings if they wish to consume marijuana during their visit.

If you have been arrested for a drug crime in Boston, contact Brad Bailey Law at (617) 500-0252 today and request a consultation.

Categories