A person convicted of certain sex crimes in Massachusetts is considered a sex offender and must register with the Sex Offender Registry Board (SORB). Additionally, sex offenders must verify their home address once a year, notify the SORB 10 days in advance when changing homes or moving outside the state, and notify the SORB within 45 days of becoming homeless.
Failure to register, failure to verify information, failure to provide proper notice of a move, are providing false information to the SORB are crimes. A first-time conviction for failing to register as a sex offender can lead to a maximum two-and-a-half-year hour arrest sentence (minimum sentence of at least six months), a maximum five-year prison term, and/or a fine not exceeding $1,000.
Furthermore, all Level 2 and 3 offenders—as well as specific Level 1 or unclassified offenders—are subject to lifetime community parole supervision upon conviction. A second or subsequent violation for failing to register as a sex offender is punishable by a minimum five-year prison sentence.
The prosecutor must prove the following elements—beyond a reasonable doubt—to convict a person for failing to register as a sex offender in Massachusetts:
- The defendant lives, works, or goes to school in the state.
- The defendant was convicted of a sex crime that required sex offender registration and/or is considered a sexually dangerous person.
- The defendant was aware that he/she must register, verify information, or provide notice of a change of address to the SORB.
- The defendant failed to take proper action.
If you have been charged with failing to register as a sex offender, you must speak with a criminal defense attorney to handle your case. Your lawyer can review your case and help you obtain the most favorable results.
For more information about sex offender registration in Boston, contact Brad Bailey Law and schedule a consultation today.